PLASTICS OUT OF SOYBEANS: SCENE FROM MOVIE

December 14, 2008 at 2:36 am | Posted in Economics, Film, Science & Technology, USA | Leave a comment

spin-globe.gif

books-globe.gif

globe-purple.gif

history.gif

world.gif

compass.gif

loudspeaker.gif

globeinmoney.jpg

wonderful.jpg

PLASTICS OUT OF SOYBEANS

Movie Scene

It’s A Wonderful Life (1946)

This memorable scene is from the Christmas classic It’s A Wonderful Life (1946). It’s Mary and George on the phone together with their old pal Sam Wainwright. They’re talking about business opportunities:

SAM’S VOICE
I have a big deal coming up that’s
going to make us all rich. George,
you remember that night in Martini’s
bar when you told me you read
someplace about making plastics out
of soybeans?

GEORGE
Huh? Yeah-yeah-yeah… soybeans.
Yeah.

SAM’S VOICE
Well, Dad’s snapped up the idea.
He’s going to build a factory outside
of Rochester. How do you like that?

GEORGE
Rochester? Well, why Rochester?

SAM’S VOICE
Well, why not? Can you think of
anything better?

GEORGE
Oh, I don’t know… why not right
here? You remember that old tool
and machinery works? You tell your
father he can get that for a song.
And all the labor he wants, too.
Half the town was thrown out of work
when they closed down.

SAM’S VOICE
That so? Well, I’ll tell him. Hey,
that sounds great! Oh, baby, I knew
you’d come through. Now, here’s the
point. Mary, Mary, you’re in on this
too. Now listen. Have you got any
money?

GEORGE
Money? Yeah… well, a little.

SAM’S VOICE
Well, now listen. I want you to put
every cent you’ve got into our stock,
you hear? And George, I may have a
job for you; that is, unless you’re
still married to that broken-down
Building and Loan. This is the biggest
thing since radio, and I’m letting
you in on the ground floor.

MARY
(nervously)
I’m here.

SAM’S VOICE
Would you tell that guy I’m giving
him the chance of a lifetime, you
hear? The chance of a lifetime.

GEORGE

(fiercely)

Now you listen to me! I don’t want
any plastics! I don’t want any ground
floors…

Sam Wainwright makes a fortune in plastic hoods for planes.

Wainwright, a successful plastic business entrepreneur, stops in town in his fancy car on his way to a sunny Florida vacation with his wife.

It’s A Wonderful Life (1946)

TrackBack URI


Entries and comments feeds.